nl gb


Fats generally have a "bad" name. It is and remains a fact that a fatty diet is a major cause of obesity. People often think: 'I don't eat fat', but then the fats contained in products are often forgotten.

Too much fat in food not only causes obesity, but also brings with it many more complications and can increase the risk of cardiovascular disease. In addition to the amount of fat you consume, the type of fat is also important.

There are 4 different types of fat:

  •     Unsaturated fats
  •     Essential fatty acids
  •     Saturated fats
  •     Trans fats



Unsaturated fats
Unsaturated fats are also referred to as 'the okay fats'. They play an important role in the prevention of cardiovascular disease. Unsaturated fatty acids help to keep the blood cholesterol level healthy.

Essential fatty acids
Some unsaturated fats are essential. This means that the body cannot make them itself. The most well-known essential fatty acids are linoleic acid (Omega-6) and linolenic acid (Omega-3).










Saturated fatty acids
Saturated fat is also referred to as 'wrong fat'. This is because the saturated fats can increase the cholesterol level in the blood. This increases the risk of cardiovascular disease.

Recent research shows that not all saturated fats are so bad. The use of coconut oil and butter has always been considered unhealthy, but these saturated fats do not appear to have much effect on cholesterol levels.

As a sandwich filling, you can also have fish, such as mackerel, smoked salmon/heilbot trout or a delicious homemade tuna or salmon salad.









Trans fats
Trans fats, like saturated fats, are 'wrong fat'. Like saturated fats, trans-fats can increase blood cholesterol levels.

If you want to deep fry, choose a liquid frying oil. Frying meat, fish or replacement is better done in a liquid margarine or rapeseed oil.
A home-baked cake can also be prepared with rapeseed oil or squeeze-bottle butter.